Day 46 – March 15, 2010 – A Great Dad, Daylight Savings (grrrr) and Family Home Evening

Today was a tough day! Odd for me because I normally have GREAT days! Nothing major, just a number of on going challenges that I’m working through that made the day a bit heavy.  I took a few minutes to call my Dad, just to visit with him and discuss some ideas on how to overcome the challenges facing me. What a blessing to have a Dad you can call ; discuss challenges, discuss ideas,  receive encouragement and wise advise. It was great to visit with him!

The kids were a bit punchy and tired today due to daylight savings. I honestly do not like daylight savings. It wreaks havoc on everybody for about three days and not worth 1 extra hour of daylight. Well maybe in the summer when it means one more hour of water skiing.:-) I’m amazed how springing forward 1 hour can have such an impact.

The day ended on a high note as we enjoyed a very nice family home evening. We sang songs, ate popcorn and watched the video “Finding Faith in Christ”. A nice way to wrap up a tough day!

Day 45 – March 14, 2010 – Day of Church with Elder Gary Walker and a quiet night with my family

Today I spent the entire day attending a number of LDS Church Wards with Elder Gary Walker and Pres. Sean Smith. It was an amazing time with men who are spiritual giants. I was blessed to spend the day with them and learned much by watching them teach the members. Probably the thing I gleaned most from today was a greater understanding of the difference between ministering and administering. We often get trapped in planning activities and attending to the mechanics of church instead of truly ministering to the needs of the individual. This is a good thing for me to ponder.  I need to reflect on this some more. I’ve been asking myself am I ministering to my children or am I trapped in the administration of running a home? I’m sure a little more ministering and love would create greater harmony and unity in the hearts of my children.

Coming home to my family was a treat.  The kids greeted me at the door – well the jumped on me at the door exclaiming, “you’re home”! It’s always fun coming home. I spent the rest of the evening with my wife and children reading stories and enjoying each other’s company.